Expectations

Expectations are placed on each of us all the time. There’s a never-ending stream of things people expect you to do. In my case, those expectations seem to be placed on me all by myself, or all by others (or at least my perception of others).

Recently I found a job. I was getting anxious about not having a job almost three months after college graduation (understandably), and I needed a source of income. However, this job is below my experience and ability level. It was very easy to get because they get a lot of turnover and it’s not particularly difficult.

There was pressure from my parents to get a job, but now they’re throughly disappointed in the job I have. I am too. It’s enjoyable enough, but it is a bit of a dead-end. So now you could say I’m between a rock and a hard place. There’s so many expectations out there, and it’s hard (if not impossible) to fulfill all of them. The difficult part is figuring out which ones to fulfill and which ones to ignore.

Leave a Reply

