An Insomniatic Impetus

I often have too much on my mind to sleep well. My thoughts race and go all over the place. Truth be told, it can be really annoying.
That’s why I’m starting this blog: maybe if I get a few of these thoughts out of my head, I won’t have to think about them anymore.

Maybe a little introduction is in order. My name is Andy Bell, and I’m right at quarter-life crisis age. I graduated college a couple of months ago and now am what I hoped I wouldn’t be: the recent grad still living at home. As you might be able to tell from the tone of this post, that has me kind of worried.

For the first time in my life, I don’t really have a plan. I have such diverse interests that I didn’t really specialize enough in my studies, making me (at least in my eyes) a little unemployable in my field. Not working gives you a lot of time to think, and, in my case, way too much time.

This blog is mostly about me developing a writing habit. I’ve tried blogging numerous times in the past, but I’ve never gotten far. I think I know the reason why: expectations. They’ve simply been too high in the past. I’ve wanted every post to be a masterpiece and that is a great way to burn out quickly.

There won’t be a single consistent topic for this blog; think of it more like an opinion column, or Andy Rooney’s old bit at the end of 60 Minutes. Any topic is fair game with the only role being that I need to post every weekday (though weekends are great too). I want to take my personal filter off to a degree and just write. The key is that I’m not writing for an audience; I’m writing for me. If other people find my posts interesting that’s great, but I care way more about writing them than other people reading them.

Now that that ramble-fest is out of the way, maybe I’ll be able to sleep.

Leave a Reply

